I Remember When This Was All Just Fields!

I was reminded the other day that I am now in the unenviable position of working with people who are less than half my age.

This is a sobering thought as until recently I had been under the impression I was still young and sprightly, despite the repeated abuse from my children about how old I am.

So having been forced to face the truth; that I am in fact the wrong side of 40 and not getting any younger, I thought I would compile my guide to the things that helped me realise… yes I am old.

New Skool is Old Skool and Old Skool is Prehistoric

Whether we’re talking music, video games or technology in general, old skool as I (or indeed you good reader) know it is no longer “Old Skool”.

Nope!

Sorry!

In fact there was a period where the Old Skool I knew was surpassed by another era of Old Skool and there’s been another since then!

Old Skool video gaming these days is Metal Gear Solid, Call of Duty or Halo, before that it was Street Fighter 2 and Mortal Combat. Old Skool Gaming to me is Jet Set Willy, Asteroids, Missile Defence and Pacman!!

I very much enjoyed the movie Pixels.

Old Skool Hip Hop (as you may or may not know, my 1st true love musically) in this day and age are the likes of Eminem, Ludacris and 50 Cent… is Lil Wayne Old Skool yet? Before that it was Wu Tang Clan, Lost Boys and LOTUG, before THAT it was the likes of De La Soul, NWA and A Tribe Called Quest, BEFORE THAT it was Run DMC, Sugarhill Gang and Grandmaster Flash et al. Obviously these are only examples there are soooooo many more that I could list, maybe some time I’ll do that.

An HD tv is now “Old skool”, 4g is the new standard people are working towards. DVD’s are becoming old skool as digital downloading takes over where Blu Rays never quite did and do you even know anyone with a VHS Player anymore?

We have one but then we only got our first HD TV last year πŸ˜‰

I am repeatedly forced to facepalm, rolleyes and explain what proper old skool is to an increasing number of my peers!

I’m getting old.

Happy Anniversary

Nothing makes you feel older than hearing about a 25th or 30th anniversary of something that still seems relatively fresh in your mind like say… The Hubble Telescope. Yeah that’s pretty new right? Orbiting out there, checking out the galaxies far, far away etc…

25 years ago last year that thing went up!!

Here’s some more for you…

  • Last year was also the 25th Anniversary of Nelson Mandela being freed “Freeeeeeee Nelson Mandela!” (just me?)
  • 30 years from the first .com domain being registered
  • 25 years since the Channel Tunnel drilling parties met in the middle
  • and 800 years since the signing of the Magna Carta

ok that one’s a little of out context but you get the idea πŸ™‚

This year Facebook turns 12!! Yes, seriously!! MySpace anyone? πŸ˜›

Definitely getting old.

Rebooted Remakes

OK So Some reboots are worthwhile, the Star Trek one I enjoyed, Andrew Garfield was a much better Spidey that Toby McGuire ever was and I hold out hope for Afleck as Batman (although it seems I’m in the minority).

However, it seems that all the films of my childhood are now deemed old enough to warrant being re-made.

The new Ghostbusters comes out this year, they already screwed with the A-Team, Total Recall and A Nightmare on Elm Street. That last one I haven’t actually seen, so didn’t want to judge, but the fact that they are rebooting it AGAIN makes me think it’s probably tripe… like Freddy’s face.

On top of this there are indications of so many classic films being re-visited it makes me weep.

Just No!! Leave them alone!!

The list includes…

  • Big Trouble in Little China (It’s all in the reflexes)
  • The Blob (scared the crap out of me as a kid)
  • Blue thunder (with a drone no less!)
  • Flatliners (stop please)
  • Hellraiser (Origins apparently)
  • Highlander (Noooooo!!!)
  • IT (We all float down here)
  • Jumanji (Puth the dithe in my mouth!)
  • Pete’s Dragon (please god why?)
  • AND… Short Circuit (Johnny 5 is dead apparently)

When your favourite classic films are being touted for re-makes you know you’re getting old.

Other indicators are…

On top of these factors there are a number of other things I have noticed which no doubt appear on a number of these sorts of lists on how to tell you should be playing bowls and wearing beige (no offence to any young people currently bowling in beige obviously)…

  • I have hair where I could do without it and less where I could use it
  • I make a stupid sound most times I stand up or sit down
  • My first mobile phone (I was 19ish) had a pull up aerial and could text and call… that’s it!!).
  • I have t-shirts that are older than some of the people I work with.
  • I remember a world before the internet and satellite TV, in fact I remember Channel 4 launching with a plane flying over head pulling a Channel 4 banner on my way home from school.
  • When I was a kid our TV didn’t have a remote control
  • Our house phone had a cord and the concept of a speed dial button was genius!!
  • Bluetooth was something I got after eating sweets from the joke shop.
  • And lastly, I remember several areas near me that used to literally be just fields… or heathland at least.

In Summary

I’m old.

Well, I’m certainly getting there.

I’m at the age where I remember looking at my parents and thinking “Wow you’re old” and therefore I am accepting this fact and running with it.

However, I’m not about to let it stop me being the kid I am inside.

Life is short, the start of this year has already seen many people who were mainstays of my childhood pass into the history books. People like Bowie, Lemmy and the late great Sir Terry Wogan.

So my advice is this…

Get the tattoo, party when you can, sing, laugh, live, love and for fuck’s sake have fun with it people!!

It’s all downhill from here after all πŸ˜‰

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Sara T says:

    I enjoyed reading this!!

    1. Psy says:

      Thanks Sara glad you enjoyed it πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

