Happy 60th

26791_363745540831_3991936_n Today was my Mother-in-laws 60th Birthday.

Although we celebrated it in our own way, she never got to see it.

You know the old saying: “Only the good die young”.

I’m starting to think there’s something in that.

Throughout your life people come and go, friends and family alike.

Every now and then though someone makes such an impact on your life that they stay with you even when they leave it.

My Mother-in-law was one of those people.

She was one of those people who always puts others ahead of herself.

She would always ensure the presents were bought, the food was ready, the washing done, the bills paid, the kids clothed and still have time to run a business and run a house for young people unable to find anywhere to live.

When I say she put everyone else first, I mean EVERYONE.

More than that though she taught me to see things from all angles and consider every persons feelings before acting or speaking.

She had a real knack of seeing situations from all perspectives and making you do the same.

She wasn’t judgemental, and having met some of the kids and young adults she met and helped through the house her and my Father-in-law ran, she would have had plenty of right to be just that.

But she wasn’t.

She gave everyone a second chance.

She was also the gravity within the family.

All the events, all the meals, the birthdays, they all materialised because of her. She was the force bringing everyone together. She was the tie that bound the family.

As soon as my wife and I were together I was treated like a member of the family. I was never made to feel like an outsider. I called her Mum2.

With all that selflessness though comes a downside…

She was strong. Too strong probably.

She was taken just before her 54th Birthday.

TOO YOUNG.

Although she was only in my life for 10 years she made such a difference to me. She changed who I was for the better both directly and via her daughter, my wife.

Whatever my future may bring she will always have a place in my heart.

How many guys can say that about their Mother-in-law?

Not many I suspect.

I thought about writing a poem for her today but I’m not feeling inspired and she deserves better than something thrown together half-assed so instead I’ll link to the ones I’ve written previously.

R.I.P. Mum2 give my babies a kiss for me.
1 Year On
1461 Days

 

Leave a Reply

