Goodbye Prince

on

I sit here in shock and disbelief.

Few artists had such an effect on my late teens and early 20s as Prince did.

Now he has passed aged just 57.

2016 in general seems to have been a fucker of a year in terms of losing legends but for me Prince was THE legend.

I had always kinda liked the songs he had released as I was growing up like Alphabet Street etc but it wasn’t until I left school that a good friend of mine really introduced me to his music and his passion.

Party like it’s 1991

Not long after I left high school my friend Chris introduced me to Purple Rain, Love Sexy, Sign ‘O’ the Times and Graffiti Bridge.

I was hooked!!

It was rare then, even rarer now, to see a musician who put so much of himself into everything he wrote and performed.

His sheer passion was evident in every performance, you only have to see him perform The Cross in the concert recording of the Sign ‘O’ the Times album to see it, or watch him wipe a tear from his eye during Purple Rain.

He felt every single note, chord and riff.

Sign ‘O’ the Times quickly became one of my favourite albums of all time and if you think Michael Jackson could move, seriously, checkout the concert recording for the album.

I’ve never seen an artist actually swap places with his drummer mid song before or since.

Very few artists can be said to have an impact on future generations in the way that he did.

Able to play multiple instruments and responsible for some of the best know tracks of all time recorded by a number of Artists such as Chaka Khan, Sinead O’Conner and many others, he truly was inspirational to so many people.

Me included.

His music could lift your spirits, touch your soul and bring you to tears effortlessly.

He could cross from genres effortlessly bringing rock, funk and soul together in a blend so unique.

I’m not sure anyone else has ever been able to do that or quite possibly ever will.

All good things come to an end I guess ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

Emancipation

I think it was around the Emancipation album era that I lost touch with him really.

The album didn’t speak to me the way his previous ones had and I think I also let outside influence cloud my perceptions.

I have bought a couple of his albums since but not many which I now regret, not just because he has passed but because I don’t think I gave them a chance to grow on me.

I know a lot of the music he was putting out at that time was really about breaking free from his label etc (we all remember the SLAVE on his face) and I think maybe now he has passed there will be tonnes of his music which will actually see the light of day that no one has heard before.

I remember watching a talk by Kevin Smith about when he was asked by Prince to make a film at Paisley Park… it never saw the light of day and in the process he discovered Prince had 50+ fully finished music videos that also never left Paisley Park.

I hope we may now get to see these in all their glory.

Maybe that will be the silver lining to a day that in all honestly has me genuinely sad at the passing of a man I never met, never knew and never had a connection with other than via his music.

Maybe that was enough.

RIP Prince Rogers Nelson, you will be missed.

Prince Performs โ€œPurple Rainโ€ During Downpour | Super Bowl XLI Halftime Show | NFL

Prince – Cream

Prince, Tom Petty, Steve Winwood, Jeff Lynne and others — “While My Guitar Gently Weeps”

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

